Iowa Schools Invited to Apply for Lt. Governors’ STEM Education Scholarship Program


The National Lieutenant Governors Association (NLGA) has opened the application period for the annual Lt. Governors’ STEM Scholarship Program, sponsored by ACT, to award up to $1,000 to 12 schools nationally to support STEM-related activities for youth. Applications will be accepted until March 15, 2024 with award recipients announced and funded in Summer 2024.  


“As Chair of the National Lieutenant Governors Association, I’m proud of our organization’s efforts to advance STEM education at the state level,” said Lt. Governor Adam Gregg. “I encourage Iowa educators to apply for this funding to enhance their great work in the classroom.” 

NLGA will award twelve scholarships to twelve schools in twelve different states and territories, worth $10,000 total. The Scholarship Program is administered by NLGA, the nonpartisan, nonprofit association for the nation’s seconds-in-command, and sponsored by ACT, the education and career readiness nonprofit.  


All public, private, and tribal schools in the 50 states and five U.S. territories are invited to apply at Funding will be awarded to schools to support STEM-related activities, programming, curriculum, equipment, and other expenses.  

Applications will be reviewed in the spring with award winners announced at the NLGA Annual Meeting in April 2024. Additional information on the STEM Scholarship Program, including instructions for applying, can be found at  


  • Application must be submitted by a teacher or project advisor of a public or private, state-accredited or tribal pre-K – 12th grade school
  • The funding must be utilized for Science, Technology, Engineering, and/or Mathematics educational opportunities, such as projects, curriculum, or equipment.
  • By applying for this Scholarship, the teacher or advisor agrees to potential contact by NLGA and/or the state/territorial lieutenant governor/second-in-command for further information.
  • Applications will be reviewed by members of the NLGA Executive Committee (lieutenant governors and seconds-in-command and by NLGA Staff.

Facebook Comments